The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

E W Barker Trophy (formerly Silver Cup)
(Singapore Group 2)

Click here for all the winners

GOLD RUTLE (inside) scores a huge upset in 2015 - SNTC photo

The Silver Cup was introduced in 1993, replacing the Pesta Sukan Cup and run over 1,400m, the same distance as the last two runnings of the Pesta Sukan Cup.

The first winner of the Silver Cup was the brilliant sprinter-miler STORM, who went on to take the Raffles Cup (1,600m) a week later.

The Silver Cup success by FISCHER in 1995 was one of ten classic victories recorded by the brilliant sprinter.

In 1996, LION HORSE, ridden by New Zealand jockey Grey Childs, caused a spectacular upset in the handicap event.

When the Silver Cup was first staged at Kranji racecourse in 2000, it was won by BOLD EXPLORER who stormed into the scene with four victories earlier in the season.

And like the Pesta Sukan Cup, no horse has won the Cup twice. But the only jockey to win the Silver Cup twice was K L Oo astride Fischer in 1995 and GLIDER LINE in 1998.

In 2002, the race was renamed the E W Barker Trophy in honour of the late Chairman of the Singapore Turf Club.



HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.