The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Race known as Sultan Gold Vase till 2013)

Click here for full list of winners.

BALOTELLI outclasses his rivals in 2015

The Perak Gold Vase is unique for it is the only classic run over a straight course. But the race started out as a "7 furlongs less 40 yards" (about 1,368m) sprint in 1950 when MISS NATHAN was successful. It was then known as Sultan Gold Vase.

The following year, the race was run over "6 furlongs" (about 1,207m) with BEST BET, ridden by local jockey Abdul Mawi, coming up tops. In 1952, the distance was switched to the present equivalent of 1,100m and run over the straight course. It has stayed that way since.

In 1958, Garnet Bougoure partnered the great sprint champion AMUSEMENT PARK to record his second success in the series, having won it earlier in 1954 with SOVEREIGN.

Bougoure’s achievement was bettered a few years later by Kevin Mitchell. Winner of the race with RUBBER PLNATER in 1956, Mitchell was astride NASHOR when he registered his double in 1963 ad 1964.

In recent years, K L Oo has emulated Mitchell’s record, winning the Gold Vase on AMERICAN SOLDIER II (1986), FISCHER (1995) and PRECEDENT (1999).

M C Lam was only an apprentice when he took the 1976 running on SINGAPORE SUN. He repeated the feat on JINGLE BELL IV in 1984 when a senior rider. Danny Chee was also an apprentice when he won on LIBRAN STAR in 1988 when the race was first run as a restricted handicap.

In 1993, the Gold Vase was run at weight-for-age with WILD N DARING (C H Kam) emerging victorious.

The Perak Turf Club tried it as a set-weights event in 1994 when FLAMING WONDER was successful. The following year, the Gold Vase was reverted to weight-for-age and has remained that way since.

Besides NASHOR, only three other horses have won the Gold Vase twice: KING'S KNIGHT in 1967 and 1968, RAPHAEL GOLD in 1997 and 1998, and LABU LABU in 2003 and 2003.


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright © 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.