The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Singapore Group 1)

WAR AFFAIR romps to easy win in 2014

The Kranji Mile was inaugurated in 2000.

The inaugural winner was the prolific sprinter-miler PACIFIC PRINCE, ridden Darryl Holland and trained by Charles Leck.

PACIFIC PRINCE's attempt in making it a double in 2001 was foiled by SMART BET, ridden by Grant Cooksley. However, PACIFIC PRINCE came back in 2002 to win it for the second time. 

Prizemoney for the Kranji Mile was increased to S$250,000 in 2001 and the race open to international entries. However, no overseas horse has taken part. It's now a closed race for Singapore based horses.

In 2006, prizemoney was increased by two-fold to S$500,000 and the race was elevated to Group 1 status.

In 2007, SETEMBRO CHOVE makes history by becoming the first Brazilian horse to win a classic in the MRA circuit.

BETTER THAN EVER became the first horse to win the Cup in consecutive years in 2010 and 2011.

The Club open the race to international entries in 2018 and Hong Kong's SOUTHERN LEGEND won it on consecutive years 2018 and 2019.

The 2020 edition was confined to local entries due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Year Horse Owner Wgt Dist. Time Jockey Trainer
2000 Pacific Prince Prince Stable 58 1600m 1:36.0 D Holland C Leck
2001 Smart Bet Smart Bet Stable 57.5 1600m 1:37.8 G Cooksley M Yusof
2002 Pacific Prince Prince Stable 58 1600m 1:35.4 W H Lao C Leck
2003 Blizz Bless ALA Crabbia 58 1600m 1:36.4 J Geroudis P Shaw
2004 Mayo's Music Kings Stable 58 1600m 1:42.8 J Patton J Meagher
2005 Really Good Good Stable 58 1600m 1:37.7 J Powell D Baertschiger
2006 Recast Kings Stable 58 1600m 1:37.5 O Chavez J Meagher
2007 Setembro Chove Jose L Glaser 58 1600m 1:35.5 R Fradd P Shaw
2008 Top Spin Lim's Stable 58 1600m 1:35.7 N Callow L Laxon
2009 Waikato Silver Fern Racing Stable 58 1600m 1:33.8 J Powell L Laxon
2010 Better Than Ever Jupiter Stable 57.5 1600m 1:35.06 J Saimee L Laxon
2011 Better Than Ever Jupiter Stable 58 1600m 1:35.60 J Saimee L Laxon
2012 Better Life Suzuka Racing Stable 56 1600m 1:35.96 A Munro H Takaoka
2013 Cash Luck Northwest Racing Stable 58 1600m 1:34.47 D Beasley D Kok
2014 War Affair Warplan Racing Stable 57.5 1600m 1:33.72 D Beasley HW Tan
2015 Stepitup Tivic Stable 58 1600m 1:34.59 M Rodd L Laxon
2016 Debt Collector Barree Stable 57.5 1600m 1:34.43 M Rodd C Brown
2017 Infantry Kajorn Petch Racing No 2 Stable 58 1600m 1:35.80 M Nunes HW Tan
2018 Southern Legend Boniface Ho Ka Kui 57 1600m 1:33.79 Z Purton C Fownes
2019 Southern Legend Boniface Ho Ka Kui 57 1600m 1:33.61 Z Purton C Fownes
2020 Arammayo Aramco Stable 57 1600m 1:33.85 R Maia S Baertschiger


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.