The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Singapore Group 1)

WAR AFFAIR wins easily in 2015 - SNTC photo

The Patron's Bowl was inaugurated in 1997 in honour of the patrons of the Singapore Turf Club.

The inaugural winner of the set-weight contest for four-year-olds was the Sungei Besi raider CASINO KILLER, ridden  by K K Loh and trained by Francis Nathan.

Home based trained THE JOLLY ROGER won the next running and since then, the race has been confined to Singapore based horses.

The brilliant sprinter BOCELLI proved to good for his rivals in the 2001 running of the race which is the first leg of the Singapore championship for four-year-olds.

Visiting Macau jockey WH Lao was successful in the 2002 running astride the Charles Leck trained BON AMIE.

In 2006, prizemoney was increased by two-fold to S$500,000 and the race was elevated to Group 1 status.

Patrons' Bowl was staged over 1600m for the first time in 2010 and became the second leg of the Singapore four-year-old challenge.

It was renamed Charity Bowl in 2018 and discontinued the following year.


Year Horse Owner Wgt Venue Dist. Time Jockey Trainer
1997 Casino Raider Energy Stable 57 Bukit Timah 1400m 1:22.6 K K Loh F Nathan
1998 The Jolly Roger Agasam Stable 57 Bukit Timah 1400m 1:22.0 J Saimee M Kent
1999 Lotsagelt Sunshine Eight Stable 57 Bukit Timah 1400m 1:23.0 J Saimee D Baertschiger
2000 Super Luck Top Super Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:23.9 K B Soo (a) D Baertschiger
2001 Bocelli Fairdeal-R Nobilo & J Sprague Stable 58 Kranji 1400m 1:23.8 G Cooksley P Busuttin
2002 Bon Amie Orange Stable 58 Kranji 1400m 1:23.7 W H Lao C Leck
2003 Lim's Reward Lim's Stable 58 Kranji 1400m 1:24.2 G Cooksley S Gray
2004 Dreyfuss Oscar Racing Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:23.5 E Wilkinson L Laxon
2005 Royal Captain  Dragon Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:24.7 Din Azis L Laxon
2006 Taurus Starcap Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:24.4 A Spiteri J Meagher
2007 My Royal Captain Dragon Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:26.5 N Callow L Laxon
2008 Phenom Hydrocarbon Stable 57 Kranji 1400m 1:22.9 R Woodworth D Koh
2009 Jolie's Shinju Hippocrates Stable 55.5 Kranji 1400m 1:22.1 R Stewart H Takaoka
2010 Intercept V-Day Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:35.00 J Moreira L Laxon
2011 Speed Baby Eastern Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:35.19 I Azhar S Burridge
2012 Ato Newbury Racing Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:36.10 B Vorster P Shaw
2013 Super Easy Joy N Happiness Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:35.16 J Moreira M Freedman
2014 Spalato Grahma Christopher Mackie 57 Kranji 1600m 1:35.01 M Nunes J O'Hara
2015 War Affair Warplan Racing Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:33.45 A Munro HW Tan
2016 Well Done Well Done Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:34.90 G Boss D Kok
2017 Alibi Alibi Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:34.95 G Boss M Clements
2018 Elite Invincible Elite Performance Stable 57 Kranji 1600m 1:34.31 V Duric M Walker


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.