The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics


Click here for full list of winners.

LITTLEBITOFJOY scores in 2013 and 2015

The current Perak Derby series has a colourful history dating back to 1950 when INDIAN HEATHER, with A E Ayres astride, won over a distance of 2,414m.

But available record shows that a Perak Derby was run at the Batu Gajah racecourse in 1986. It was staged by the Kinta Gymkhana Club with stakes of $1,000, a princely sum then.

It was not known if the Perak Derby continued to be run at Batu Gajah. Later, racing in Perak was shifted to Taiping until the Perak Turf Club came into existence.

In the early days of the current Perak Derby series, expatriate jockey dominated the scene and practically every classic went their way. The first local boy to win the Perak Derby was Subian Dalwee in 1962. He scored on NORVAL LAD.

There was a long wait of 11 years before another local jockey, Winson Liew, now a trainer, won the Derby on CHAMPAGNE II in 1973.

Only one jockey has won the Derby thrice. Des Coleman, who once held the record for winning the most number of classics, was successful on FELTON in 1966, CASSINI PARK in 1968 and FIREBRAND in 1974.

Ivan Allan, currently based in Hong Kong, is the most successful trainer with nine wins, including two hattricks. Teh Choon Beng is the next most successful with eight wins.

History was created in 2002 when OPPOSING FORCE won the Derby for the second consecutive year, becoming the first horse to defend his title.

Then in 2005, OPPOSING FORCE scores again to join an elite band of horses to win the same classic thrice.

The prizemoney for the Derby, which had drawn small fields in recent years, was increased from RM250,000 to RM400,000 in 2003 in the hope of raising the depth of the field.


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.