The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics


PACKED AND GONE (Leslie Khoo) wins the 
last running of the Pesta Sukan Cup in 1992. 

The Pesta Sukan Cup was introduced in 1970 to coincide with the annual Pesta Sukan sports carnival popular in Singapore at that time.

It began as a staying race and was staged over varying distances until it was turned into a sprint in 1991.

The inuagural running, over 2,212m, was won by JOINT COMMAND II, ridden by T S Chiam.

In the years it was staged over 1,600m, some top-notch ‘milers’ cropped up in the winning list including HAWAIIAN SONG (1983), BEST BOLD (1984), NOSTRADAMUS (1987), SAUGATUCK (1989) and BATMAN (1990).

BECQUEREL, who later stood at stud at the National Stud Farm, won the race in 1991 when it first staged over 1,400m. The last running pf the Cup the following year was won by PACKED AND GONE, ridden by Leslie Khoo, who is now a trainer.

The Pesta Sukan Cup was discontinued in 1993 and in its place came the Silver Cup.

(All races held at Bukit Timah)

Year Horse Owner Wgt Dist. Time Jockey Trainer
1970 Joint Command II Royal Syndicate 48.5 2212m 2:26.2 T S Chiam S Osman
1971 Tanglin Heights Lucky Stable 55 1810m 1:55.4 M Lee E van Breukelen
1972 Film Studio VI Shaw Stable 54 2212m 2:24.0 D Coleman C Tulloh
1973 Chaya Timor II Sultan Of Pahang 56 1810m 1:53.2 J Johnson C Tulloh
1974 Yangtze Kiang II Auric Stable 49 2011m 2:14.2 R Rajoo D Tan
1975 Lover's Paradise C & W Stable 53.5 1810m 1:54.2 A K Cheam C B Teh
1976 Road Master Master Stable 49.5 1850m 1:56.2 M Sng R van Breukelen
1977 Razzmatazz Auric Stable 51.5 1850m 1:59.0 K Watson C B Teh
1978 Charles Street Lad Inderapura Stable 52 1850m 1:54.0 C H Ooi S H Lee
1979 Sound Of Sensation Double S table 47.5 1850m 1:53.0 L Khoo R van Breukelen
1980 Master Wishes Ng's Stable 52 2000m 2:07.7 K Velu S H Lee
1981 Pegasus II Pegasus Stable 48 2000m 2:09.7 I Pateman A Samsuri
1982 Tanayar Golden Arrow Stable 53.5 2000m 2:07.4 A Tweedie G West
1983 Hawaiian Song Dato Amar & Datin Amar Wee Hood Teck 50.5 1600m 1:35.4 K C Woon I Allan
1984 Best Bold Auric Stable 52.5 1600m 1:41.0 N Tiley C B Teh
1985 Betsy's Pet II Cousin Stable 48 1600m 1:37.3 K L Oo M Ismail
1986 Imperial Justice Cousin Stable 49 1600m 1:39.9 I Azhar M Ismail
1987 Nostradamus Grand Rock Stable 57 1600m 1:35.6 R Dominguez M Thwaites
1988 Gift Of Power  Power Stable 48.5 1600m 1:37.2 C H Kam P Lee
1989 Saugatuck He's Dawan Stable 48 1600m 1:34.9 A John M Thwaites
1990 Batman Auric Stable 51 1600m 1:37.1 K Clapperton C B Teh
1991 Becquerel Wild N Royal Sable 52 1400m 1:23.8 K C Ow Yang K Leong
1992 Packed And Gone Nafisah & Poh Hwee Stable 52 1400m 1:24.1 L Khoo C Read


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright © 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.