The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Singapore Group 1)

Click here for all the winners

STEPITUP winning in 2015 - SNTC photo

The Queen Elizabeth II Cup was inaugurated in 1972 to mark the visit of Queen Elizabeth II to the Singapore Turf Club at Bukit Timah and quite appropriately, it was won by an English jockey.

The great maestro Lester Piggott and the all-conquering JUMBO JET teamed up to defy top weight of 59.5kg to easily win the 2,200m race.

The 1974 running ended in a sensational note when a former amateur horse TEN NO TRUMPS scored an upset to return $206 on the win tote.

The Cup distance was reduced to 2,000m in 1983 and visiting Hong Kong jockey M C Tam caused a stir to win on BILLY BROWN.

In 1989, the race was sponsored for the first and only time. Called the Vacheron Constantin Queen Elizabeth II Cup, it was once again won by an outsider, UNCOMPROMISING, ridden by V Sivan.

In 1993, the Queen Elizabeth II Cup was staged as a Terms race. It has been a weight-for-age race since 1994 when EMERALD ISLES won in a course record time of 2 min. 1.9 secs. at Bukit Timah.

Now retired Teh Choon Beng is easily the most successful trainer in the Cup with eight victories. In recent years, Malcolm Thwaites has dominated the race, winning it four times.

In 2005, Trevor Bailey saddled LIGHT OF SUCCESS to victory in what was his first big race success in Singapore, and Lucky Stable their second win in three years.

In 2016, the Cup will be upgraded to Group 1 and prizemoney raised to S$500,000.


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.