The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Singapore Group 1)

Click here for all the winners

STEPITUP winning in 2015

Inaugurated in 1991, the Raffles Cup is named after Sir Stamford Raffles, the founder of Singapore.

The weight-for-age race had a historic start when TUNEFUL MELODY upset all calculations to lead all the way, becoming the first Malaysian bred to win a classic in the Malaysia-Singapore circuit. He was ridden by Ismadi Ismail and trained by Teh Choon Beng who went on to saddle three more winners with STORM (1993), THE MAILMAN (1994) and STARMAN II (1995).

EMERALD ISLES, ridden by Macau jockey W H Lao, rewrote the Bukit Timah course record with a winning time of 1 min. 34.2 seconds in 1996.

OUZO was the last winner of the Raffles Cup run at Bukit Timah in 1999.

In 2000 and 2001, with the sponsorship of the Raffles International Group, the race became known as the Raffles International Cup and open to international entries.

However, no overseas horse took part but it produced a thrilling finish when CON AIR (Carig Carmody) beat SUPER GOLDLUCK by a head with KIM ANGEL another neck away third.

Since its inception in 1991, the race has been run over 1,600m. In 2001, the distance was changed to 1,800m.

TAPILDO, winner of the New Zealand Oaks as a three-year-old,  carved out a narrow win in 2001 to become the second mare after STORM to win the race. Then ZIRNA joins the list in 2003.


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.