The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(International Group 1)

DAN EXCEL scores back-to-back win in 2015 - SNTC photo

In their bid to become a truly international centre of the highest standard, the Singapore Turf Club inaugurated the S$3 million Singapore Airlines International Cup in conjunction with the official opening of the state-of-the-art Kranji Racecourse in March, 2000.

Entries were invited from horses throughout the globe and the final selections pitted six Singapore based against eight from overseas, headed by Hong Kong Cup winner JIM AND TONIC from France.

In the truly exciting contest, local champion OUZO, ridden by J Saimee, just edged out Jim And Tonic.

The 2nd edition saw England's ENDLESS HALL defeating Jim And Tonic and WITH THE FLOW in an all-European finish in course record time.

In 2002, the powerful Godolphin Stable captured the prize for the first time when GRANDERA easily beat German entry PAOLINI.

The race was not held in 2003 because of the outbreak of the SARS virus.

German horse EAPLO scored a runaway win in 2004 and MUMMIFY scored a 'first' for Australia in 2005.

COSMO BULK and SHADOW GATE gave Japan consecutive victories in 2006 and 2007.

South African scored a 'first' in 2008 while it was Brazil's turn in 2009 with GLORIA DE CAMPEAO.

Hong Kong horses won in three consecutive years from 2013.

The Singapore Turf Club decided to discontinue the Cup from 2016.

2015 Singapore Airlines International Cup
S$3 million  3YO & Upwards (Set Weights)  2000m
Sunday, 17 May 2015

Year Horse Owner Wgt Venue Dist. Time Jockey Trainer
2000 Ouzo Eres Tu No 2 57 Kranji 2000m 2:03.4 J Saimee M Thwaites
2001 Endless Hall Il Paralupo 57 Kranji 2000m 2:00.8 J Spencer L Cumani
2002 Grandera Godolphin Stable 57 Kranji 2000m 2:01.3 L Dettori S Suroor
2003 Race not due to SARS virus affecting Asia
2004 Epalo G A Tanaka 57 Kranji 2000m 2:02.6 A Starke A Schutz
2005 Mummify M Pejic, TJ & A Torrasuo et al 57 Kranji 2000m 2:05.0 D Nikolic L Freedman
2006 Cosmo Bulk Misako Okada 57 Kranji 2000m 2:06.5 F Igarashi K Tabe
2007 Shadow Gate Tomokazu Iizuka 57 Kranji 2000m 2:04.0 K Tanaka Y Kato
2008 Jay Peg Shirtliff, Braun, Loomes & Marcus 57 Kranji 2000m 2:00.9 A Marcus H Brown
2009 Gloria De Campeao Stefan Friborg 57 Kranji 2000m 1:59.2 TJ Pereira P Bary
2010 Lizard's Desire Sheikh Mohammed 57 Kranji 2000m 2:02.12 K Shea M de Kock
2011 Gitano Hernando Raman Kadyrov 57 Kranji 2000m 2:03.93 G Schofield H Brown
2012 Chinchin Sarl Darpat France 57 Kranji 2000m 2:04.43 O Doleuze C Laffon-Parias
2013 Military Attack (IRE) Mr & Mrs Steven Lo Kit Sing 57 Kranji 2000m 1:59.58 Z Purton J Moore
2014 Dan Excel David Philip Boehm 57 Kranji 2000m 1:59.07 T Berry J Moore
2015 Dan Excel David Philip Boehm 57 Kranji 2000m 2:01.52 T Berry J Moore


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.