The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

(Known as Agong Gold Cup from 1958-1994)

Click here for all the winners

Malaysian bred BEAUTIFUL CHOICE makes history in 2015

The Selangor Gold Cup was first run as the Agong Gold Cup in 1958 and the honour of winning the inaugural event went to local boy Moses Lee astride TAKE EASY.

Over the years, the Gold Cup has gone to some of the top sprinters in the land. Names like BLUE STAR (twice Lion City Cup winner), STAR PRINCE (unbeaten in six starts on the local turf), the mighty HE'S DEWAN and CHUMMY'S SPECIAL, both Horse of the Year, have appeared on the winning list.

SENTAK BULAN (1972 and 1973), CAMBERLY (1980 and 1981) and BESTPLAN (1989 and 1990) scored back-to-back wins prior to the race being renamed the Selangor Gold Cup in 1995.

Under the new name, FISCHER proved to the greatest sprinter of them all, winning the Gold Cup thrice, in 1995, 1997 and 1998.

Only one jockey - Des Coleman - has won the Cup thrice. His initial win was on SILVER CROWN in 1966 and he was winning rider of Sentak Bulan on both occasions.

In 1992, the last day of the Agong Gold Cup meeting was cancelled due to the death of Tengku Ampuan of Selangor. The Gold Cup was postponed for two weeks and held in Ipoh instead.

It proved a memorable event for Leslie Khoo. The Singaporean scored on DYNAMITE TRIO to register his 15th classic success, a record at that time.

The race was not run in 1999 due to a virus outbreak and thereafter races in Malaysia are confined to Malaysian based horses.

In 2003, the Selangor Gold Cup was staged over 2,000m and it was the final leg of the Selangor Turf Club triple crown series. It offered RM1.5 million in prizemoney.

In 2004, the Selangor Turf Club re-scheduled their three big races. The Selangor Gold Cup was the second leg of their triple crown series and the distance was 1,600m. The stakes was raised RM750,000. Current prizemoney is RM350,000.

BEAUTIFUL CHOICE made history by becoming the first Malaysian bred to win the event in 2015.


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.