The Complete Cyber Guide to Horse Racing in Malaysia and Singapore

   HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report  |  Subscribe

Back To Classics

SINGAPORE CLASSIC (formerly Singapore Cup)
(International Group 3)

COME SEE YOU (WC Marwing) scores a narrow win over
MOON SHADOW in the 2003 Singapore Classic. 

Horse racing in Singapore dates back to 1842 when a group of racing enthusiasts founded the Singapore Sporting Club and five months later, they had a grandstand and track built on a piece of swampy land in what is today the Farrer Park Sports Complex.

The first race meeting was held on February 23 and 25, 1843, and the inaugural race was called the Singapore Cup. It offered prizemoney of $150 and was won by a horse called COLONEL.

It is not known how many Singapore Cups were staged.

In 1999, Singapore Turf Club (SNTC) re-introduced the race to mark the first ever night race meeting at the new Kranji racecourse.

The first running was staged over 2,400m, won by BEYOND EXPECTATION, ridden by J Saimee and trained by Malcolm Thwaites.

The SNTC then shortened the distance to 2,000m the next season. Saimee and Thwaites were again successful, this time with OUZO.

In 2001, the SNTC opened the race to international entries with an increased prizemoney of S$1 million. The race was renamed the Singapore Classic.

Four overseas horses came for the event but two were withdrawn at the eleventh hour. German entries SILVANO and CAITANO made it a 1-2 for the foreign contingent. The winner won in course record time.

In 2002, the distance was shorted to 1,800m and local hero PALACE LINE easily defeated overseas raiders LETHALS LADY and HAPPY DIAMOND.

In 2003, COME SEE YOU scored a narrow win for Hong Kong based Singapore trainer Ivan Allan.

The Singapore Turf Club discontinues with the race in 2004.

Year Horse Owner Wgt Venue Dist. Time Jockey Trainer
1999 Beyond Expectation Fairdeal Stable 58 Bukit Timah 2400m 2:28.1 J Saimee M Thwaites
2000 Ouzo Eres Tu No. 2 Stable 58 Kranji 2000m 2:03.0 J Saimee M Thwaites
2001 Silvano S G Fahrhof 57 Kranji 2000m 2:02.3 A Suborics A Wohler
2002 Palace Line Bernard Kantor 52.5 Kranji 1800m 1:48.0 J Geroudis P Shaw
2003 Come See You Patrick Wang 57 Kranji 1800m 1:49.0 WC Marwing I W Allan


HOME  |  News  |  Race Card  |  Entries  |  Results  |  Tables  |  Information  |  Stipe's Report
About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Disclaimer  |  Advertise  |  |  Subscribe
Copyright 1999-2018.  All Rights Reserved.